The Show floor officially opened this morning, Alan Alda won the NAB Distinguished Service Award, we awarded the 2019 Innovators Award at Futures Park and wrapped up the day with the Achievement in Broadcast dinner where we honored our Digital Leadership Award winner.

Show Open

We kicked off today by recognizing legendary actor Alan Alda with the NAB Distinguished Service Award.

A broad coalition of broadcast television station groups as well as public broadcasters announced that ATSC 3.0 will be rolled out in 40 U.S. markets by the end of 2020.

Innovation Award and Futures Park Reception

Ollie Baumann accepted the Innovation Award at the Futures Park Reception for MediaKind. They won the award for enabling the world’s first 6K tiled 360-degree live sports streaming.

Ollie Baumann accepts the Innovation Award for MediaKind from Skip Pizzi (left) and Lynn Claudy (right)

Digital Leadership Award

Wendy McMahon wins the 2019 NAB Digital Leadership Award

Wendy McMahon, president ABC Owned Television Stations Group, was awarded the Digital Leadership Award at the Achievement in Broadcasting dinner.