About the Awards

The Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards are presented to individuals for their outstanding accomplishments in the radio or television broadcast industry, respectively. The Digital Leadership Award honors an individual at a broadcast station, group or network who has transformed a traditional broadcast business to succeed on digital media platforms.

2021 Winners

Adam Wiener

Digital Leadership Award

CBS Local Digital Media’s Executive Vice President and General Manager, Adam Wiener has spent more than 30 years at the forefront of media evolution. He leads all aspects of digital for the owned and operated CBS Television Stations, including the roll-out of CBSN Local OTT. He began his career at CBS News where highlights include manning the Foreign Desk as the Cold War ended, covering Governor Bill Clinton’s 1992 presidential campaign. Wiener served as Senior Producer of “Up To The Minute,” the first news broadcast of any network with a dedicated website. He was tapped to help launch CBSNews.com, combining a lifelong love of computers with traditional media expertise and became, at the time, the youngest Executive Producer in CBS News history. He has held senior digital business and operational management roles at web start-ups and traditional media companies, such as NBCUniversal, IAC and Dow Jones. He returned to CBS in 2010 to launch CBS Local Digital Media, of which he was appointed Executive Vice President and General Manager in 2016.

He is a member of the NAB Digital Officers Committee and is an Affiliate Board Member of Digital Content Next. He received a BA in Journalism from the University of Rhode Island, where he serves on the Executive Advisory Board of the Harrington School of Communications and Media. He was inducted into the URI Hall of Fame in 2016.

David Folsom

Engineering Achievement Award for Television

David Folsom is the Chief Technical Officer for Pearl TV and is responsible for the management and engineering of the Phoenix Model Market Station Project as well as other Pearl projects. He is also the author of the Phoenix Model Market’s NextGen TV Host Station Manual as well as the Pearl webinar series about NextGen TV. His focus throughout the development and rollout of NextGen TV is in advancing NextGen TV through operational and technical education.

Folsom has been in broadcast and engineering management for well over forty years. He retired as Chief Technology Officer of Raycom Media Inc (now part of Gray Television). His television engineering career has spanned from commercial design of broadcast equipment and components to traditional broadcast engineering management in commercial, as well as public television.

Folsom is the holder of two television equipment design patents, served on multiple industry standards committees and is a licensed private pilot.

He resides in Montgomery, Alabama with his wife of over 50 years, Kathleen.

David Hershberger

Engineering Achievement Award for Radio

David L. Hershberger retired in 2017 as a Senior Scientist for Continental Electronics. Over his long career he has worked for Harris Broadcast, Grass Valley Group and Axcera, in addition to multiple stints at Continental Electronics. His work focused on exciters and modulators for transmitters, and low-level signal processing – most of which has been digital signal processing in recent decades. He co-developed the world’s first digital FM exciter as an experimental prototype which was tested on-air in 1986. He also worked on non-broadcast projects including new X-band uplink transmitters for the JPL/NASA Deep Space Network.

Hershberger has 21 US patents granted with more in process and has made numerous NAB, IEEE, and SBE presentations along with NRSC, SMPTE, and ATSC committee work. He has bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Illinois, and a bachelor’s degree in math from Goshen College. While he retired in 2017 he continues to do some consulting.

He lives in Tahoe National Forest near Nevada City, California.

Brady Dreasler

Service to Broadcast Engineering Award

Quincy Media’s Corporate Director of Engineering and Technology, Brady Dreasler, is a native of Quincy, Illinois. Dreasler began his career with Quincy Media, Inc. at WGEM, in 1972. Some of the positions he held while at the station include Operations Manager, Local Television Sales Manager, and Account Representative. During that time, he gained experience in virtually every department of a television and radio station. In 1997 Dreasler became Quincy’s Corporate Director of Broadcast Engineering.    

Dreasler currently serves as Vice Chairman of the NAB Television Technology Committee, participates in several ATSC committees and is an elder at Faith Presbyterian Church.

He and his wife, Cheryl, have three grown children and one grandchild.